Skip To Main Content

NISD honors teachers, staff at 2024 Inspire Celebration

NISD honors teachers, staff at 2024 Inspire Celebration
An NISD retiree celebrated crossing the stage at district's Inspire Celebration

Northwest ISD announced its Teachers of the Year and honored the top educators and staff across the district at its annual Inspire Celebration on Thursday, April 11, showcasing the tremendous teaching talent and staff support throughout the district.

With a strong field of educators competing for the overall district teaching honors, Monique Lawson of Schluter Elementary School earned the Elementary Teacher of the Year honor, while Leann Shelley of Medlin Middle School earned Secondary Teacher of the Year recognition. Read more about NISD's 2024 Teachers of the Year by clicking here.

Additionally, all 34 Northwest ISD schools named their Exemplar Educators of the Year, honoring the district’s top teachers by campus for the 2023-2024 academic year. Northwest ISD’s Exemplar Educators were selected following a rigorous process on their campus that evaluated their leadership, motivation and effectiveness in the classroom.

The Inspire Celebration also acknowledged the district’s Employees of the Year, retirees and some of Northwest ISD’s longest-serving staff members celebrating their major work anniversary milestones. Photographs of the ceremony can be found on the district's Flickr page


Exemplar Educators (Elementary)
Maclaine Green Beck Elementary School
Madeleine Doud Berkshire Elementary School
Chelsea Franco Carter Elementary School
Carole Eney Cox Elementary School
Amy Byrd Curtis Elementary School
Melissa Grumble Daniel Elementary School
Sara Swezy Granger Elementary School
Joanne Duncan Haslet Elementary School
Amanda Allen Hatfield Elementary School
Patricia Hunter Hughes Elementary School
Jenn Washam Justin Elementary School
Whitney Reed Lakeview Elementary School
Megan Walker Lance Thompson Elementary School
Angie Walden Love Elementary School
Katie Delgado Nance Elementary School
Stacey Kromer Peterson Elementary School
Tiffany Yosten Prairie View Elementary School
Patricia Frausto Roanoke Elementary School
Monique Lawson Schluter Elementary School
Charity Miller Sendera Ranch Elementary School
Diana Mayberry Seven Hills Elementary School
Bridget Dore Thompson Elementary School


Exemplar Educators (Secondary)
Shelby Klasel Adams Middle School
Dawn Kelley Chisholm Trail Middle School
Leann Shelley Medlin Middle School
Kristy Fair Pike Middle School
Ryan Weiss Tidwell Middle School
Maurice Rhinehart Wilson Middle School
Atiana Waters Worthington Middle School
John Sikon Byron Nelson High School
Jennifer Edwards Eaton High School
Tanya Morrow Northwest High School
Jennifer Powers Steele Early College High School
Erin Rios Special Programs Center


Employees of the Year
Amanda Salazar (Instructional Support) Haslet Elementary School
Kimberly Flanagin (Administrative Support) Steele Early College High School
Elaine Osborne, Ph.D. (Support Services) Eaton High School


Debbie Adley Tidwell Middle School
Jeffery Althof Adams Middle School
Naomi Bates Chisholm Trail Middle School
Stephen Bates Pike Middle School
Liz Belser Haslet Elementary School
Melissa Burns Tidwell Middle School
Toni Byam-Pirotte Eaton High School
Laurie Carey Chisholm Trail Middle School
Becky Carlson Justin Elementary School
Terry Chaler Roanoke Elementary School
Christina Clack Sendera Ranch Elementary School
Joanne Duncan Haslet Elementary School
Deirdre Dykes Northwest High School
Ruth Farmer Granger Elementary School
Sherry Gibson Love Elementary School
Melanie Green Northwest High School
Stacy Hamby Hughes Elementary School
James Hammer Wilson Middle School
Marvin Harris Northwest High School
Vicki Harwell Cox Elementary School
Lincoln Hunt Eaton High School
Cynthia Jumper Peterson Elementary School
Leah  Knickerbocker Justin Elementary School
Donna Kopacki Chisholm Trail Middle School
Rhonda Lemieux, Ed.D. Chisholm Trail Middle School
Michaele Mack Student Services
Steve Melbourn Athletics
Ann Miller Medlin Middle School
Lee Ann Mobley Thompson Elementary School
Shirley Moran Prairie View Elementary School
Rena' Naghad Chisholm Trail Middle School
B. Sunshine Olson Byron Nelson High School
Steven Parkman Northwest High School
James Peters Maintenance
Julie Peters Lakeview Elementary School
Lisa Ransleben, Ed.D. Justin Elementary School
Renee Saettel Lakeview Elementary School
Julie Shikany Beck Elementary School
Tonya Taylor Hatfield Elementary School
Catherine Vasquez Love Elementary School
Lisa Wheet Curriculum
Denise White Medlin Middle School
Sandy Wilbur Byron Nelson High School
Sandy Wright Wilson Middle School


Service Pin Recipients (25 years)
Ruth Ann Beagle Student Services
Nicki Chesney Sendera Ranch Elementary School
Gary Cooper Peterson Elementary School
Deirdre Dykes Northwest High School
Josh Embry Maintenance
Patricia Hunter Hughes Elementary School
Leah Knickerbocker Justin Elementary School
Kimberly Marzahn Seven Hills Elementary School
Kimberly McKinnie Wilson Middle School
Tanya Morrow Northwest High School
Jeffrey Oster Eaton High School
Kimberly Scott Lakeview Elementary School
Stephen Speer Northwest High School
Heather Sponsel Northwest High School
Ted Twa Pike Middle School


Service Pin Recipients (30 years)
William Deel Northwest High School
Elizabeth Elliott-Norman Student Services
Marvin Harris Northwest High School